Skip to main content

TWAS-Samira Omar Innovation for Sustainability Award

Main page content

This annual award, named after the TWAS Fellow Samira Omar, recognizes the significant impact on the environment and biodiversity of scientists from least developed countries, with a monetary award of $4,000 generously provided by Professor Omar. In 2024 the award is aimed exclusively at women scientists.


The 2024 award will be awarded to a woman scientist national of a Least Developing Country (LDC), living and working in a LDC during the last two years immediately prior to her nomination, based on scientific achievements in any of the thematic areas below:

- Clean and renewable energy
- Green chemistry
- Sustainable agriculture and agrobiodiversity
- Plastic: degradation, pollution and microplastics
- Water purification and sanitation
- Climate change: environmental effects, methane contribution, carbon capture
- Transportation technologies: efficiency for smart cities
- Waste management
- Biodiversity: the sixth mass extinction, ecosystem services, habitat recovery and restoration
- Ecological economics and planetary health

The World Academy of Sciences (TWAS)